Florida's Homestead Exemption Law is designed to protect your homes assessed value from overinflating by locking in your tax rate as of the year you become a Florida resident.
* YOUR HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION IS NOW PORTABLE - YOU CAN TAKE YOUR OLD TAX RATE WITH YOU WHEN YOU MOVE.
How It Works:
Homeowners who live in their homes fulltime (six months and one day per year) qualify for a Homestead Exemption, which deducts $25,000 from a home's assessed (taxable) value. A home assessed at $120,000, for instance, is only taxed on a value of $95,000. Homeowners must take residence before January 1 of the year to qualify. (This program is outlined in the Save our Homes (SOH) Amenment 10 Homestead Exemption Guideline.)
~ ~ ~
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO FLORIDA RESIDENTS
FROM THE LEE COUNTY PROPERTY APPRAISER
It is important to us that you receive all the exemption benefits that you are entitled to. If you have either purchased or built a new home and if your property is your permanent residence you may be entitled to a homestead exemption. If you plan to file for an exemption, please refer to this page and gather the documentation listed. Bring it, along with proof of residence when you are applying at the property appraiser's office. Application should be filed at any time prior to March 1 of the year of residency assuming the residency requirements, per Florida State Statutes, are met.
To qualify for the exemption, the following requirements must be met by all owners of the property:
If you drive, all applicants must provide a valid Florida driver's license number.
Florida vehicle license plate/tag number(s) for all vehicles.
Florida voter registration number(s) or a declaration of domicile if you do not wish to register to vote. Note: An $8 fee is charged for recording a declaration of domicile.
Social Security number(s).
Date(s) of birth.
A permanent residency/green card is required if not a U.S. citizen.
Contact the Lee County Property Appraiser at (239) 335-2294 for information on other exemptions available, such as;
Widow, or widower exemption
Disabled veteran's exemption
Non-veteran totally disabled exemption
Please Note: Lee County has chosen to waive the requirement that qualified property owners must renew their homestead exemption annually. After initial application, your exemption is automatically renewed. It is the duty of the property owner to notify the Appraiser's office promptly whenever the use of the exempted property changes. Homestead exemption is not transferable - a new application must be completed by the new owner of the residence.
State of Florida
Lee County Property Appraiser
Fort Myers Main Office
2100 Second Street
- Cape Coral, FL 33901